Electrician License in North Carolina: Fees, Requirements & Startup Costs
Quick answer: The North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors (NCBEEC) licenses the electrical contracting business in Limited, Intermediate, Unlimited, or applicable Special Restricted classifications, with a qualified individual on the license. Its fee schedule lists a $125 application and exam charge, then an annual license fee of $100 for Limited, $150 for Intermediate, or $200 for Unlimited. Choose the class by project scope before applying.
Project size changes the license choice
The Limited classification has a per-project value ceiling; Intermediate has a higher one; Unlimited has no project value ceiling in the researched record. Special Restricted classes address narrower work, such as a single-family detached scope or fire alarm and low-voltage work. These are business contracting permissions, not interchangeable labels for an individual employee’s ability to perform every electrical task.
A contractor license must list a qualified individual who has passed the board exam. The record did not find a separate statewide journeyman electrician license on NCBEEC’s site. If a company plans to bid work near a classification boundary, check the entire contract scope with the board before submitting the offer. Splitting a quote into pieces is not a sound way to decide which classification applies.
Licensing in North Carolina
Jurisdiction: state
Authority: North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors (NCBEEC)
Electrical contracting is licensed statewide by the NC State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors (NCBEEC). The license is issued to the business/contractor and must list a 'qualified individual' who passed the Board exam. No state journeyman/individual electrician license was found on the NCBEEC site; permits and inspections are handled by local building inspection departments.
Electrical Contractor License - Limited (L)
BUSINESS Single electrical contracting project of a value not in excess of $60,000.
| Fee | Amount | Period (years) |
|---|---|---|
| Application & exam fee (all classifications), paid by the qualified individual applicant | $125 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.ncbeec.org | — |
| Annual license fee, Limited classification (initial and renewal) | $100 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.ncbeec.org | 1 |
| Late license renewal fee | $25 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.ncbeec.org | — |
Electrical Contractor License - Intermediate (I)
BUSINESS Single electrical contracting project of a value not in excess of $150,000. Statement of bonding ability required to activate.
| Fee | Amount | Period (years) |
|---|---|---|
| Application & exam fee (all classifications) | $125 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.ncbeec.org | — |
| Annual license fee, Intermediate classification (initial and renewal) | $150 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.ncbeec.org | 1 |
Electrical Contractor License - Unlimited (U)
BUSINESS Any electrical contracting project regardless of value. Statement of bonding ability required to activate.
| Fee | Amount | Period (years) |
|---|---|---|
| Application & exam fee (all classifications) | $125 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.ncbeec.org | — |
| Annual license fee, Unlimited classification (initial and renewal) | $200 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.ncbeec.org | 1 |
Special Restricted licenses (e.g., SP-SFD single family detached, SP-FA/LV fire alarm/low voltage, SP-PH plumbing & heating)
BUSINESS Restricted electrical work classes; SP-PH allows limited electrical work incident to plumbing/HVAC work.
| Fee | Amount | Period (years) |
|---|---|---|
| Annual license fee, Special Restricted classifications | $100 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.ncbeec.org | 1 |
Qualified Individual (exam passer listed on the contractor license)
INDIVIDUAL Person who passes the NCBEEC exam and is listed as the qualified individual on the contractor's license; not a separate license fee.
| Fee | Amount | Period (years) |
|---|---|---|
| Examination fee (same $125 application & exam fee) | $125 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.ncbeec.org | — |
| Examination review | $25 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.ncbeec.org | — |
Exam: Provider: PSI · Fee: 125 · Source
Experience: Per 21 NCAC 18B .0201 (amended eff. March 1, 2023): Limited 3,000 hours (2,000 primary); Intermediate 5,750 hours (5,000 primary); Unlimited 9,000 hours (8,000 primary) plus two written statements attesting ability to supervise; SP-SFD 3,000 hours (2,000 primary). All applicants: age 18 and two good-character statements. Source: http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2021%20-%20occupational%20licensing%20boards%20and%20commissions/chapter%2018%20-%20electrical%20contractors/subchapter%20b/21%20ncac%2018b%20.0201.pdf
Bond: Applies To: Statement of bonding ability required to activate Intermediate and Unlimited licenses; dollar amount not stated on the licensing page · Source
Insurance: Requirement: No state insurance requirement found on NCBEEC pages reviewed. · Source
Renewal and CE: Renewal period: 1 year · Continuing education: 8 hours · Source
Local note: Permits/inspections by city/county inspection departments. Local privilege/business registration may apply; not researched.
Data notes
License expires one year after issuance. CE: 8 hours per annual period for qualified individuals on L/I/U/SFD licenses (4 hours for special restricted), at least half in classroom. The NCBEEC 'Section .0200' web page still shows older year-based experience rules (2/4/5 years); the official OAH rule text (amended Mar 1, 2023) uses hours and is used here. NC statute pages (ncleg.gov) were The source could not be independently reviewed at the time of verification and could not be checked directly. Bond amount for bonding-ability statement not confirmed -> null.
Verified: 2026-09-24
Experience and activation documents
The board’s qualification rule, 21 NCAC 18B .0201, distinguishes primary and other qualifying experience by classification. The applicant also supplies good-character statements. Approved apprenticeship or classroom study may provide secondary experience credit under the related rule, but the business should not assume classroom completion replaces field experience.
Intermediate and Unlimited licenses require a statement of bonding ability before activation according to NCBEEC licensing guidance. The reviewed record does not state a dollar bond amount for that statement. Request the exact form and underwriting documentation before promising a start date for larger work. The NCBEEC pages reviewed did not state a general state insurance requirement; verify current application instructions and customer contract requirements separately.
Renewal and permits are different calendars
The license expires on its board renewal cycle. The qualified individual must satisfy continuing education applicable to the classification, with a classroom component described in the researched record. Assign responsibility for tracking completion before renewal, especially if the qualifier is an employee rather than the owner.
City and county inspection departments handle permits and inspections. Ask the office serving the job address when drawings, rough-in inspections, service coordination, or final inspection are needed. Those steps can change scheduling and crew time but do not alter the NCBEEC classification. Local privilege or business registration requirements were not researched for this guide, so confirm them with the municipality before opening.
Build the North Carolina opening plan
Select the intended classification, then use the preset to test tools, vehicle, stocked material, insurance quotes, and a reserve for inspection or collection delays. Do not add the alternative classification fees together. A service operation with frequent small jobs and a contractor pursuing larger installations need different material purchasing and cash timing.
| Cost category | Range | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Licensing | Varies by state — see license table | Official fees depend on state and structure |
| Business formation | Varies by state — see license table | Official fees depend on state and structure |
| Insurance (first year) | $730–$940 MARKET ESTIMATE Source | Selected coverage |
| Vehicle | $0–$48,400 MARKET ESTIMATE Source | Own vehicle to cash purchase |
| Tools & equipment | $210–$980 MARKET ESTIMATE Source | Basic to pro priced kit anchors |
| Software (first year) | $590–$6,000 MARKET ESTIMATE Source | Basic to pro annual subscription |
Marketing, payroll, working capital, permits: set in the calculator.
Startup Cost Calculator
Estimated startup cost: $8,100–$10,700
Estimated startup cost: $8,100–$10,700. Break-even at about 7 jobs per month.
| Licensing & exam fees | $100–$325 OFFICIALLicense details |
|---|---|
| Business formation (state filing) | $125 OFFICIAL |
| Insurance (first year) | $730–$940 MARKET ESTIMATEGeneral liability |
| Vehicle acquisition | $0 YOUR INPUTYour existing vehicle; acquisition cost $0Vehicle price sources |
| Tools & equipment | $510 MARKET ESTIMATEExcludes unpriced kit items: Wire strippers, Insulated hand tools, Ladder, Safety gearStarter kit items
|
| Software (first year) | $590–$2,250 MARKET ESTIMATEPublished monthly list price × 12Software price sources
|
| Launch marketing | $1,500 YOUR INPUTYour input — default: 3 months × $500 |
| Payroll reserve | $0 CALCULATEDBLS median wage × 173 hours/month × employees × employer taxes and ECEC benefits × working-capital months |
| Working capital | $4,550–$5,050 CALCULATEDMonthly overhead × working-capital months |
| Permits & compliance | $0 YOUR INPUTYour input — default $0; local requirements may apply |
Monthly overhead: $1,500–$1,700 · Annual operating: $18,200–$20,100 · Break-even: 7 jobs/month
Vehicle operating per month: $760 CALCULATED
Phone and admin per month: $150 YOUR INPUT
Show formula
Startup total is the sum of available first-year cost lines. Monthly overhead includes insurance, software, marketing, vehicle operating, phone and admin, and payroll. Break-even jobs = monthly overhead ÷ (average ticket × gross margin).
The license guide explains the broader state comparison. The startup cost page develops the equipment and cash assumptions, and the pricing page helps translate crew time into a quote.
Official sources
Market sources
- www.ncbeec.org — Application & exam fee (all classifications), paid by the qualified individual applicant
- www.ncbeec.org — Examination fee (same $125 application & exam fee)
- www.insureon.com — Insureon
- www.nextinsurance.com — NEXT
- www.ramtrucks.com — 2026 Ram ProMaster cargo van (base)
- www.cars.com — 2026 Ford F-150 XL (base)
- www.cars.com — 2026 Ford Transit-150 cargo van (base, T-150 130in low roof RWD)
- www.coxautoinc.com — Used vehicle average listing price (all segments, not cargo-van specific)
- www.fluke.com — Fluke 117 electrician's multimeter
- www.fluke.com — Fluke 117/323 multimeter + clamp meter kit
- www.fluke.com — Fluke 323 true-RMS clamp meter
- www.getjobber.com — Jobber
- www.housecallpro.com — Housecall Pro
- quickbooks.intuit.com — QuickBooks Online
Last updated: September 24, 2026