HVAC License in California: Fees, Requirements & Startup Costs



Quick answer: California’s Contractors State License Board (CSLB) issues the C-20 Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning contractor license to the sole owner or entity through a qualifying individual. The official fee statute lists a $450 application charge and an initial issue charge of $200 for a sole owner or $350 for a non-sole-owner license. Bond and insurance obligations also affect launch cash.

What C-20 permits the company to offer

The CSLB classification covers fabrication, installation, maintenance, service, and repair of warm-air heating, water-heating heat pumps, ventilating and air-conditioning systems, along with related ducts and controls. Describe the proposed offer in those terms before quoting a whole-building renovation or refrigeration-only work. The researched record identifies refrigeration-only contracting as a separate classification, outside this page.

A sole owner or business entity holds the contractor license. A qualifying individual may be the owner or another eligible person tied to the business; the qualifier supplies experience and passes the examinations. The qualifier does not receive a separate individual C-20 license. Confirm that the business structure and qualifying person named in the application match the work the company will advertise.

Licensing in California

Jurisdiction: state

Authority: Contractors State License Board (CSLB)

State-level contractor license (CSLB C-20 Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning). No state individual HVAC technician license found; federal EPA Section 608 refrigerant certification applies separately (not verified here).

CSLB C-20 Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning contractor license

BUSINESS Fabricates, installs, maintains, services and repairs warm-air heating systems, water heating heat pumps, ventilating and air-conditioning systems and related ducts/controls. Issued to the sole owner or entity; a Qualifying Individual (owner, RMO/RMM or RME) must pass the exams and meet experience. No separate individual license is issued to the qualifier.

FeeAmountPeriod (years)
Application for original contractor license, one classification (exam or waiver); paid to CSLB$450 OFFICIAL FEE Source — leginfo.legislature.ca.gov—
Initial license fee, active or inactive, individual (sole) owner$200 OFFICIAL FEE Source — leginfo.legislature.ca.gov2
Initial license fee, active or inactive, partnership/corporation/LLC/joint venture$350 OFFICIAL FEE Source — leginfo.legislature.ca.gov2
Active timely renewal, sole owner$450 OFFICIAL FEE Source — web.cslb.ca.gov2
Active timely renewal, non-sole owner (corp/LLC/partnership)$700 OFFICIAL FEE Source — web.cslb.ca.gov2
Inactive timely renewal, sole owner$300 OFFICIAL FEE Source — web.cslb.ca.gov2
Inactive timely renewal, non-sole owner$500 OFFICIAL FEE Source — web.cslb.ca.gov2
Adding a classification to an existing license (BPC 7059)$230 OFFICIAL FEE Source — web.cslb.ca.gov—
DOJ fingerprint processing fee (Live Scan), per applicant/officer/partner/owner/RME$32 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.cslb.ca.gov—
FBI fingerprint processing fee (Live Scan); site rolling fee extra and varies$17 OFFICIAL FEE Source — www.cslb.ca.gov—

Exam: Provider: PSI Exams (CSLB contractor); Law & Business exam + trade exam · Source

Experience: At least 4 years journey-level experience (journeyman, foreman, supervisor or contractor) in the classification within the last 10 years. Education/apprenticeship may substitute up to 3 years; at least 1 year must be practical experience. Source: https://www.cslb.ca.gov/Contractors/Applicants/Contractors_License/Exam_Application/Experience_For_Exam.aspx

Bond: $25,000 OFFICIAL FEE Source — leginfo.legislature.ca.gov
$100,000 OFFICIAL FEE Source — leginfo.legislature.ca.gov

Insurance: Requirement: C-20 licensees must carry workers' compensation insurance (or self-insurance certificate) whether or not they have employees; exemption not available · Source
Requirement: LLC licensees only: liability insurance, aggregate at least $1,000,000 for 5 or fewer personnel, +$100,000 per additional person, capped at $5,000,000 · Source

Renewal and CE: Renewal period: 2 years · Source

Local note: City/county business license (business tax certificate) and building permits apply separately; local fees vary.

Data notes

CSLB fee page (web.cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Fees.aspx) states no effective date; BPC 7137 (eff. 2026-01-01) states the same $450/$200/$350/$450/$700 amounts. Older figures seen elsewhere ($300 application / $180 initial) are superseded (16 CCR 811 amended 2024). PSI per-exam fee is paid directly to PSI and not stated on any CSLB page reviewed, so exam fee = null. No continuing-education requirement for CSLB contractor licenses was found on the pages reviewed (Continuing-education hours were not confirmed = not found, not confirmed zero). Minor-work exemption: no license needed for casual/minor work under $1,000 (labor+materials) that needs no building permit (BPC 7048, eff. 2026-01-01). C-20 must carry workers' comp even with no employees (SB 216, since 2023-01-01). Refrigeration-only work is a separate class (C-38), not covered here.

Verified: 2026-09-24

Experience, exams, and the narrow minor-work rule

The researched CSLB experience rule calls for journey-level work in the classification within the stated lookback period. Education or apprenticeship may substitute for part of that experience, but practical experience remains necessary. Build time to document that history and schedule the required examinations. The source record does not state a PSI exam price, so do not insert a guessed amount into a filing budget.

California has a casual or minor-work exemption under Business and Professions Code section 7048 for qualifying work below the statutory amount that needs no building permit. It is narrow and does not authorize a company to advertise or split larger work as if a contractor license were unnecessary. Review the statutory conditions before relying on it.

Bond, insurance, and the business form

An active C-20 license requires a contractor bond. The researched record also says C-20 licensees must carry workers’ compensation insurance or a self-insurance certificate even when they have no employees; the ordinary no-employee exemption is unavailable for this classification. An LLC has an additional bond and liability-insurance rule. Those obligations can make the choice of business form material to opening cash, beyond the difference in initial issue fees.

Have the insurer and bond provider quote the exact applicant and staffing arrangement. A generic certificate for another trade or entity may not satisfy CSLB. The researched pages did not confirm a continuing-education hour requirement; verify renewal instructions directly rather than treating a blank field as proof that none can apply.

Local approvals and the California preset

City or county business licensing and building permits remain separate from CSLB. For each installation address, determine who applies for the permit, when inspection occurs, and whether the job scope includes work beyond C-20. Those steps belong in the proposal and the schedule. The pricing guide covers the labor and administrative time they create.

Enter the actual owner or entity form, the bond and insurance quotes, planned vehicle, and tool inventory in the state preset. The startup budget guide explains the cash gap between equipment orders and collection. For a broader view of the researched licensing states, see the license comparison.

Cost categoryRangeBasis
LicensingVaries by state — see license tableOfficial fees depend on state and structure
Business formationVaries by state — see license tableOfficial fees depend on state and structure
Insurance (first year)$910–$1,200 MARKET ESTIMATE SourceSelected coverage
Vehicle$0–$48,400 MARKET ESTIMATE SourceOwn vehicle to cash purchase
Tools & equipment$540–$4,350 MARKET ESTIMATE SourceBasic to pro priced kit anchors
Software (first year)$590–$6,000 MARKET ESTIMATE SourceBasic to pro annual subscription

Marketing, payroll, working capital, permits: set in the calculator.

Startup Cost Calculator

Estimated startup cost: $9,700–$12,300

Estimated startup cost: $9,700–$12,300. Break-even at about 7 jobs per month.

Licensing & exam fees$650–$800 OFFICIALLicense details
Business formation (state filing)$70 OFFICIAL
Insurance (first year)$910–$1,200 MARKET ESTIMATEGeneral liability
Coverage sources
Vehicle acquisition$0 YOUR INPUTYour existing vehicle; acquisition cost $0
Vehicle price sources
Tools & equipment$1,350 MARKET ESTIMATEExcludes unpriced kit items: Refrigerant scale, Multimeter, Safety gear
Starter kit items
  • Manifold gauges: $820
  • Refrigerant scale: not priced yet
  • Vacuum pump: $540
  • Multimeter: not priced yet
  • Safety gear: not priced yet
  • Fieldpiece VP87 8 CFM vacuum pump: $830
  • Appion G5Twin recovery machine: $970
  • Fieldpiece MR45 digital recovery machine: $1,150
  • Leak detector: not priced yet
Software (first year)$590–$2,250 MARKET ESTIMATEPublished monthly list price × 12
Software price sources
Launch marketing$1,500 YOUR INPUTYour input — default: 3 months × $500
Payroll reserve$0 CALCULATEDBLS median wage × 173 hours/month × employees × employer taxes and ECEC benefits × working-capital months
Working capital$4,600–$5,100 CALCULATEDMonthly overhead × working-capital months
Permits & compliance$0 YOUR INPUTYour input — default $0; local requirements may apply

Monthly overhead: $1,550–$1,700 · Annual operating: $18,400–$20,400 · Break-even: 7 jobs/month

Vehicle operating per month: $760 CALCULATED

Phone and admin per month: $150 YOUR INPUT

Show formula

Startup total is the sum of available first-year cost lines. Monthly overhead includes insurance, software, marketing, vehicle operating, phone and admin, and payroll. Break-even jobs = monthly overhead ÷ (average ticket × gross margin).


Official sources

Market sources



Last updated: September 24, 2026